“Life Is About Feeing Good” Chef Kourda

achef1

It was an incredibly fun adventure interviewing Chef Kourda for South Shore Magazine last night.

achef20achef22

Chef Kourda is not only the Executive Chef of Brassiere Zapp at the Red Lion Inn located in Cohasset, Massachusetts but the General Manager as well. To see him work is quite remarkable. He is a multi-tasking, non-stop tornedo of energy who is constantly making sure his customers are getting the very best of food and first rate service.

achef7

At one point I had the pleasure of watching him cook and tasting some of his spectacular food; grilled -rib-eye steaks doused in garlicky chimicurri, creamy and silky lobster bisque that was so good I was tempted to lick the bowl (and I would have if I could have gotten away with it) tempura shrimp that were lightly battered and delicate, the best warm Bruschetta I have ever had, a cheese platter that looked like a Kandinsky painting, fried artichokes, lobsters, creative flat breads and whole lot more that honestly made me pant and quiver.

achef16achef13achef14achef12achef2achef4achef3achef6

The best part was when Chef Kourda asked me to cook with him. This was a huge honor and treat. He gave me a chef’s jacket and there I was standing in front of a large unit imported from France that consisted of many ranges and ovens. Made out of black iron and brass, this square monstrosity sat in the center of the kitchen. I instantly felt like I was transported to some fine restaurant in Paris. On top of this impressive unit were pots and pans that simmered with a variety of sauces, and in one section there was a grill where meats sizzled and smoked over dancing flames. Dancing? Did I say dancing? –I’m giving too much away here, look for more on this top-notch Chef and his restaurant in the up-coming edition of South Shore Magazine.
http://www.thesouthshoremagazine.com/

achef17 achefrangeaaaacheffffff

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Life Is About Feeing Good” Chef Kourda

  1. Maryanne Jago says:

    I will have to go !!!!

    Like

  2. I see a roadmance to Massachusetts in my future. When will the magazine be out?

    Like

  3. Very impressive! His presentation is astounding and by your description I imagine the food was phenomenal. Lucky you.

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      It was so much fun to hang out with him, a fun night!

      Like

      • ian toolsie says:

        I met Rachid in Hull, he invited me to the Brassiere Zapp. You couldn’t sum it up any better non-stop tornedo of energy super fun guy. It was the best dinning experience I had. Not only that he introduced fixed a scrumptious sword fish but he sat me to some of the locals who I ended up bar hoping and then return to the Brassiere Zapp. What a fun place.
        Ian-from DC

        Like

      • johncpicardi says:

        Glad you had a great time. Rachid is a great chef, and is super fun to be around!

        Like

Leave a Reply

