Scapes & Pine Nut Crackers

aacrackers555aaacrackers888

Everywhere I turn this summer people are talking about garlic scapes; the tops of garlic plants that look like fat chives with small white bulbs at their tips and I guess inside these bulbs contains seeds or maybe garlic powder ha ha ha. –One thing for sure, they are lovely to look at and remind me of Swans perhaps it is the startling white and beak-like pointiness of the bulb.

aaaaaacrckers 49999999aaacrackers888

This whole garlic scapes thing started a few weeks ago when I posted a photo of my Dad’s garlic plants and soon after people started emailing me and suggested I roast them, some people said that scapes taste like a combination of  artichokes and asparagus with a tinge of garlic, others insisted I make pesto, some suggested I stick them in my ears and other places.

garlic

Well, I guess there are a million things one could make with scapes, and you can even buy them at certain Wholefood Stores, but I was thinking of making crackers with them only for the mere fact that I like crackers. I also had some pine nuts that were begging to be used, so I decided to make, “scape pine nut crackers” and here is how I did it.

 

aaacrac1aaacrackers

First I placed in my food processor two tablespoons olive oil and about eight scapes (about five to four inches with their small bulbs) and ground them until a smooth oily paste formed. Scapes are tad fibrous so makes sure you blast them in the food processor for a while. You want 1/3 cup of this scape mixture.
2 1/2 cups flour (plus more if needed and rolling out)
1 t teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
1/3 cup pine nuts

Sift the flour, salt, and baking powder into a bowl and add the butter and cut it into the flour until it resembles coarse meal. Add the milk, parmesan, egg, pine nuts, and scape paste and mix until you have a stiff dough. Add more flour if mixture is too wet. Knead the dough thoroughly and then roll out the dough thin, don’t worry about crushing the pine nuts and some will pop out, but just stick them back in and tell them to behave. Cut the dough in squares, small discs or other fun shapes and place on a cookie sheets (I lined my sheet pan with parchment paper) Prick the crackers with a fork and then bake in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes, or until they are lightly browned. Sprinkled the crackers with coarse salt.

These had a light garlic flavor to them and the pine nuts gave the crackers an added interesting dimension.
aaacrackers8aaacrack1aaacrackers 9999aaacrackers33aacrackers444aacrackersaaacrackers888aaaaaacrckers 49999999aacrackers555

 

 

 

 

 

 

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scapes & Pine Nut Crackers

  1. Nancy says:

    Hi John! I think they sound awesome. I shared it with a FB foodie friend, and here’s her comment: Do you have any suggestion?
    Problem is, I can’t find guaranteed Italian or Mediterranean pine nuts. Most you find around here are from China, Vietnam, or Russia – inferior pine nuts that give me a metallic taste in my mouth for up to a week. So I’ve just started to avoid them altogether. Which makes me sad

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      Tell your friend to use walnuts, or leave where they’re living and move to a place were they can buy the pine nuts they like. John

      Like

  2. Awesome! I’ll be making these as I have some scapes left. As always, your posts make me laugh. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

    Like

  3. Brilliant. Love the originality!

    Like

  4. craftymadre says:

    Those look DELICIOUS!!! I’m so glad you went for it with the scape. I hope you weren’t disappointed. I’m definitely going to try this recipe (or have my wife try it for me).

    Like

Leave a Reply

