The Savory Ricotta Pie – –Your way or Mine

abricc9 (The green things in the photos are the tops from my Dad’s garlic plants, they are called scapes, and when they are young they are great to cook with. I was told today that you can make a pesto with them, stay tuned because you know I’ll be making that soon!)

abric000abric1

Here I go again with the ricotta. –Like I said in my last post I wasn’t always a fan of ricotta but after spending time in Italy last fall and winter there was no avoiding it, they practically threw globs of it at me when I walked down the street, not really, but I did end up eating plenty of it. But who cares about ricotta and me, let’s talk about this scrumptious pie.
abric2abric4

You can use the ingredients I suggest to garnish the pie or use your own; the only rule is to be creative and to get your art grove on.

First use the crust recipe from my, “Fruit Tart with Sweet Cheese” blog entry.

Roll the dough out thinly and line a thin tart pan (with removable bottom) with ruffled edges, you can use another shallow round pan with edges as well (like a deep dish pizza pan) but these tart pans are found everywhere and run about five bucks.

The Filling
1 ¼ cup ricotta
2 eggs
1 teaspoon dry basil or fresh chopped
A pinch of nutmeg
Salt and plenty of black pepper

To Garnish
Slice of tomatoes
Black olives
Roasted red peppers
Sliced artichoke hearts
Slices of salami
Chives

Mix the ricotta and eggs with basil, nutmeg, and salt and pepper and pour into the dough lined tart pan. Take the rest of the ingredients that are sliced thin and get arty and make an interesting pattern that will “WOW” the people you serve it to. Bake at 350 for 20-25 until or until filling has set.  Place a sheet pan under the tart.

Served warm or cold, this pie is truly awesome!

abrica8abricc9abric1

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Savory Ricotta Pie – –Your way or Mine

  1. Love Love Love the fresh ricotta from Italy! It’s so amazingly good, delicate, and in no way compares to the “stuff” that the grocery stores sell here in the US. I’d eat it for breakfast everyday if I lived in Italy! LOL!

    Like

  2. Hi John, I will be posting my adaption of this recipe later today. I linked to this post and your home page. Have a great day!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Steak and Cottage Cheese Pie | Psycho Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

