Blueberry Ricotta Tart

b10b8

Blueberries are in abundance now and I am thinking of all kinds of ways to use them and since I’ve been using ricotta a lot lately I decided to make a mini-kind of ricotta-blueberry tart type of thingy.

I wasn’t always a fan of ricotta but after spending time in Italy last fall and winter there was no avoiding it, they practically throw globs of it at you when you walk down the street, not really, but I did end up eating plenty of it. But who cares about ricotta and me…

b7

This is pretty simple to make.

First use the crust recipe on my, “Fruit Tart with Sweet Cheese” blog entry.
Roll the dough out thinly and line a thin tart pan (with removable bottom) with ruffled edges, you can use another shallow round pan with edges as well (like a deep dish pizza pan) but these tart pans are found everywhere and run about five bucks.

1 ¼ ricotta
2 eggs
¼ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 pint of blue berries

For apricot glaze on top (optional)
½ cup apricot preserves
1 tablespoon water

b2b3b4b5

Mix the ricotta, eggs, sugar and vanilla well. Pour into the tart pan lined with the dough. Place the berries on top carefully pushing them in gently but not submerging them. Bake in a preheated 350 oven for twenty minutes or until the pie has set firm and the crust is lightly browned.
b1b14

In a small pan put apricot preserves and water and melt it over heat. When liquefied, pour it over the center of the tart. With the back of spoon spread the preserves to the edges of the pan. It should be a thin layer and the heat from the tart will make it easy to spread, but go slow as not to disrupt the sitting blueberries, they don’t like to be disturbed, after all, would you if you were resting in bath of warm sweetened ricotta, I would think not.

This tart is thin and light. Perfect if you’re watching your weight, if not eat two pieces.

b10b7b10

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Blueberry Ricotta Tart

  1. This sounds delicious! I was thinking of going blueberry picking and making some jam. I’ll have to add this to my list. 🙂

    Like

  2. Love it, can’t wait to try it. Thanks John for helping me keep weight loss delicious!

    Like

  3. Saskia (1=2) says:

    I would definitely help myself to two slices and that lovely apricot glaze would be a necessity (glazes are never optional in my kitchen)! This looks delicious – I just need to be patient until blueberry season arrives over here.

    Like

  4. This looks so yummy, perfect for a summer evening, definitely going to make soon 🙂

    http://aboutadietitian.wordpress.com/

    Like

  5. Humor and blueberries in one post. You made me laugh. And this looks delicious. I can see I have a day with ricotta ahead of me.

    Like

  6. djill33 says:

    hi~ Thats look delicious! thank you for sharing..

    Like

  7. 365zen says:

    where’s the cross section picture of this? 😉 btw yesterday i made your homemade pesto recipe and made it with linguine and some leftover rotisserie chicken. i also made bbq cauliflower as a side dish. even my son loved the cauliflower! i used a spicy bbq glaze but the bottom portions of the cauliflower weren’t spicy and i told him that it was white broccoli (he loves broccoli)…

    make a recipe with blackberries!

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      LOL what do you mean cross section picture?

      Wow I am glad you are using the recipes I post, what did you do with the blackberries?

      Like

  8. Cupcake says:

    I am kind of having quite obscene thoughts reading your stuff. The ricotta tart is KILLING me….

    Like

  9. Cupcake says:

    I am just perving on all the food now… bad times….

    Like

  10. edesorban says:

    John,
    Thanks for the follow!
    Love your blog. Gorgeous food pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

