Pea Soup with Toasted Mint with a Dollop of Carrot, Honey and Mint Pesto

A peas soup

I first would like to apologize because sometimes when I post recipes I don’t give measurements. I do when I am sharing a baking recipe but when it comes to cooking savory items everyone should sort of feel their way around and use their best judgment and go with it; trust yourself, learn from your mistakes and eat them humbly.

This pea soup is so refreshing and simple to make, and like most of my recipes this month it erupts with fresh summer flavors.

I love working with mint, it brings the flavors of other foods up a notch and it has such a clean and refreshing taste, and of course I have learned to use it judiciously because it is potent.

AND OH FRESH PEAS!    –Need I say more? They are just so darn good, I love their green nutty flavor…

Here is how I made this soup.

peasoups...

Frist I put mint leaves on a baking rack and placed it in the oven on low heat until they became curled and toasty and then after I  crumbled them up in small flakes. This method also makes your house smell really good.  — You may ask, “Why did you toast the mint leaves” –Well, because I wanted to try something different and toasting the leaves deepens their flavor.

I then boiled a few carrots until they were soft. I chilled them after.

I sautéed one minced shallot in olive oil with salt & white pepper and added a bag of fresh peas and cooked them until their color brightened into a vibrant emerald green, they were lovely!

I then added 4 to 5 cups of chicken broth, (or you can use vegetable broth) and I brought that to a slow simmer.

Meanwhile, I passed through my food processor the carrots, toasted mint leaves, a tad of olive oil, and a drizzle of honey and made a pesto, (this is quite tasty and can also be used as a dip with those fancy crackers filled with all kinds of seeds).

I drained the peas, and I saved the broth.

I passed all the peas through the food processor until they were very smooth and added the broth until I had a fairly thick soup. –Add more of the broth depending on how thick or thin you like your soup. Check for salt and pepper.

I returned the pea soup to the heat, and I let it simmer for a few moments.

Scoop the soup into bowls, sprinkle a small amount of the toasted mint on top and place a dollop of the carrot pesto inside the soup and serve. Tasty and refreshing and “green” like everything else nowadays. Yum.

peasoups...A peas soup

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pea Soup with Toasted Mint with a Dollop of Carrot, Honey and Mint Pesto

  1. Sounds divine! I have some basil resdy in the garden…

    Like

Leave a Reply

