Summer Scones: Cottage Cheese Rosemary Peach & Plum Scones

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Dear Food Blog Followers, I insist you try this recipe for scones, they are better than good and burst with summer flavors.

Scones are one of my favorite coffee and tea time snacks and I have been making them for years. Sometimes sweet or savory, these scones are fantastic piping hot right out of the oven with a slab of butter.

aassss

This recipe is quite different because it uses cottage cheese, whereas other recipes call for sour cream, or buttermilk. I found the cottage cheese made these scones extra moist and soft.

I added rosemary because its piney flavor perfumed and balanced off the peaches and plums quite well, making these wonderful scones a tasty anytime treat.

Here is how to do it, enjoy!

222222

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 Tablespoons unsalted butter frozen
1/2 cup cottage cheese
1 egg
1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary
1 Plum cut in small dices (the plum must be on the firm side)
1Peach cut in small dices
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
In a bowl put rosemary, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt and mix well. Add cubed butter into flour mixture and use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal).

aaaaaaaaa

In another bowl mix the cottage cheese and egg. Stir in cottage cheese mixture into the flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough should be sticky, and may seem dry in areas, fear not, when you press it will  stick and come together, do not handle it too much.
Place the dough on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

aaaaa3333aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa55555aaa23

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Summer Scones: Cottage Cheese Rosemary Peach & Plum Scones

  1. Jean G says:

    John,Those are the prettiest scones,they look so delicious! Will make them this week;)

    Like

  2. Oh you challenge me to adapt the calories for my enjoyment! Or maybe I can make smaller ones so they’re perfect calorie size. I’m up to the challenge John, will let you know.

    Like

  3. Bingo—I’d been stupidly wondering how to get my scones in triangle form. I’m trying to experiment with a gluten free recipe since my home is GF. Love scones! 🙂

    Like

  4. Dear God! The rosemary with the peach and plum. I am now starving.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Gluten-free Peach and Plum Summer Scones | Psycho Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

