Fruit Crostata with Sweet Cheese

first pie use

I was going to a friend’s house for dinner tonight and I wanted to make something traditional for dessert, but with a twist…something slightly different… I’ve been craving Cheese Cake lately, but thought it too heavy since the weather has been hot & muggy and plus cheese cake can be rather filling after a meal. What to do?

piiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

I contemplated for a second– –I had some fresh cherries, blueberries and peaches, but I really wanted that cheesecakes taste…so this is what I came up with and it definitely fulfilled my cheesecake cravings and it gave this Fruit Crostata a whole new dimension.

piekakkakaka

Sweet Cheese Filling
½ cup cream cheese
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
Beat everything together until well blended and put it to the side.

egagag

Clean, cut, and peel your fruit. I used cherries, blueberries and peaches slices. I had four cups of fruit. I mixed it all with two tablespoons of sugar and a tablespoon of flour and put to the side.

fruist pie

This is a new recipe for pie crust and I like it as much as the one I posted a few weeks ago.

First note that I suggest you cut the butter first and then put it in the freezer on a plate for 15 minutes. The colder the butter the better.

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for rolling
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
8 Tablespoon (1 stick) unsalted butter,  cold, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
3 to 4 Tablespoon ice water, very cold

Place the flour, salt, and sugar into a food processor and pulse it until it is all well combined. Then add half of the butter cubes and pulse 7 to 8 times. Then add the other half of the butter cubes and pulse 7 to 8 more times. You should have a mixture that resembles a coarse meal.
blender

Slowly add in cold water a tablespoon at a time and pulse, pay attention you may not need all the water so go slow!

If it sticks together when you pinch it, it is ready. Place the dough on a clean, smooth surface. Work the dough to just bring the dough together. Do not over-knead it. If you see visible pieces of butter fear not, this is what will make your crust flaky. Form into a small disc and do not throw it at anyone. Next, sprinkle the disc with flour and wrap it in plastic wrap and refrigerate it for 1 hour.

dough

When ready, roll the dough out on a floured surface making a 12 inch circle, to a thickness of about 1/8 of an inch thick. Always go slow and see if the dough is sticking, use more flour if needed.

pie33333pie fruit3333

Gently lift the rolled out dough onto a sheet pan and place the fruit in the center and fold up the sides.

pieeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Next pour the sweetened cream cheese over the center moving the fruit around slightly to allow the mixture to sink in a bit.

pie

Bake in a preheated 350 oven for about 30 to 40 minutes. When cool sprinkle with confectionary sugar.

pieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeepiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiifirst pie use

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Fruit Crostata with Sweet Cheese

  1. NomNom says:

    That pie crust looks awesome! Great final presentation!

    Like

  2. That looks beautiful! Will have to try your pie crust…I haven’t tried to make my own crust in a loooooong time (and I was never good at it to begin with).

    Like

  3. Jean G. says:

    I cannot wait to make this xo

    Like

  4. theresagalgano says:

    Great tip about freezing the butter after you cut it… I will definitely be trying that next time I make a pie crust.

    Like

  5. Terri says:

    It was delish !!!!!! Can’t wait to try it!!!!!!!

    Like

  6. pratyu says:

    nice way of portraying every step 🙂 deliciouossss

    Like

  7. Leise Falyon says:

    love your blog… food is my favorite thing next to gardening. Would love if you added categories. Example: Pies, Tarts, Breakfast, Italian Food, etc. Thanks

    Like

  8. I read, “Fruit Crostata with Swiss Cheese.” I waited. And waited. Then I scrolled to the top and reread the title of this post! Hee. I love that rustic crust. Thanks for the dough tips.

    Like

  9. bitsofnice says:

    This looks amazing! Thanks for sharing and visiting my blog 🙂

    Like

  10. Ooohh, this looks delicious, reblogging for trying at a later date. Thanks

    Like

  11. Reblogged this on quarteracrelifestyle and commented:
    Have to reblog this and try it one day when our berries are back in season, it looks very yummy.

    Like

  12. Hi John and thanks for the follow. Love your recipes. I’d love the option of printing, emailing or pinning them in your share options. They are so worth trying out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

