Bad Boy Cheeseless Pizza with Multi-colored Tomato Roast

pizza3pizza 2

Well it was another Saturday night and I had decided to make my famous cheeseless pizza… truly delicious. Although this is kind of a re-blog I want to show the photos of this bad-boy pizza because it is so flipping good and I used multi-colored cherry tomatoes because I’m fancy that way…! (Yes you can skip using the anchovies, but why would you?) And can you also sprinkle Parmesan on top while eating, I give you permission.

pizza 1

My favorite pizza in Italy was the ones with roasted tomatoes on top with a light sprinkling of red pepper flakes, anchovies and with no cheese. –Yes, fellow Americans, I said no cheese on the pizza! Okay, at first, when I was in Italy I hesitated to eat pizza with no cheese, but I gave in one day after a few glasses of wine (change is not easy for me, especially when it comes to my pizza) Anyway, after devouring three ridiculously scrumptious slices and realizing change is not such a bad thing, I was converted and so I am here today to tell you the next time you make pizza make one with no cheese, its outrageously, magically delicious.

Here is how I do it:

Spread pizza dough in a heavily olive oiled pan, then cover it for 45 minutes with a dish towel and let it sleep. Meanwhile, fill a sheet pan full of cherry tomatoes and toss them in salt, olive oil and chop garlic and let them party and roast in the oven until they are soft, deeply red, brown in areas, and crinkly, but not mushy! (the smell of them roasting is sublime). Then spread an extremely thin layer of tomato puree on the dough and top it with the roasted tomatoes, a lite sprinkling of hot pepper flakes, and if you like place a few dried cured olives on top and when done it should look like a Chagall painting, ha ha ha…. Bake the red masterpiece until done (you’ll know when) –This pizza is perfection, plain and simple. Enjoy!

pizza 1

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bad Boy Cheeseless Pizza with Multi-colored Tomato Roast

  1. That’s just naughty. Yum. Do you make your own pizza dough?

    Like

  2. bitsofnice says:

    OMG I love anchovies. Anything salty is my weakness. Despite the fact I love baking, which makes husband very happy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

