Sweet and Savory Zucchini Cakes

zuke

I’m always trying to figure out what to do with zucchinis. In a few short months every person I know will be offering me baskets of them and so I figure this year I’ll start experimenting early so when the time comes I can graciously refuse them and tell people what they can do with them.

zuke6

Today when I first entered a new Indian Market that has opened near me I discovered how embarrassingly deficient I am in the knowledge of Indian cookery. After speaking to the owner and asking for help in explaining some of the spices, she kindly walked with me down the spice aisle for a mini-lesson. I became interested in the anardana powder which is ground dried pomegranate seeds. The seeds can be purchased to grind at home, but I was in no mood to grind seeds today so I bought the powder. The flavor of anardana powder is sweet and sour, and used in most everything from breads, desserts, vegetables and meats. Before I left the store I bought fresh mint, and cilantro, (two herbs I am more than aware of.) I drove home thinking of those two zukes on my kitchen counter and what I was going to do with them and here is what I came up with.

Zucchini & Dried Cranberry Cakes
Two large zucchini
½ cup dried cranberries
1 egg
½ flour
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 teaspoons anardana powder (ground pomegranate seeds)
½ teaspoon curry powder
½ teaspoon chili powder
½ teaspoon salt
A small bunch of mint leaves (about 7 to eight) roughly chopped not minced
Small bunch of cilantro roughly chopped not minced
Oil for frying

Rehydrate cranberries in hot water, and chop, do not mince. Cut the zucchinis in half and take out the seeds with a spoon and then grate. Add the eggs and mix well. Then add the rest of the ingredients except flour, make sure all is mixed thoroughly. Then add the flour and mix until everything is well incorporated.
Put enough oil to cover the bottom of a wide skillet (you are not deep frying these) and heat the oil. When the oil is ready drop scoops (about two tablespoons) of the mixture in the hot oil, when you see the sides starting to brown turn them carefully with a fork.
These cakes are sweet, fresh and savory, you do not need a dipping sauce.

zuke 5zuke 4zuke1zukeFour Seasons Food

Four Seasons Food hosted by Delicieux and Chezfoti

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sweet and Savory Zucchini Cakes

  1. Reblogged this on High on fitness and commented:
    yummy

    Like

  2. you make yummy stuff

    Like

  3. Terri says:

    Sounds delish!!!! Will try!!! Thanks

    Like

  4. The anardana powder (that I’ve never used!) sounds really interesting with the curry and chili spices–love a sweet and spicy combo. This looks interesting—thanks! Elizabeth

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      It was nice….they came out mostly sweet with a tiny bit of heat… they were very nice though…Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. If I can’t find the anardana powder, what could be substituted?

    Like

Leave a Reply

