Cherry Bombs

cherries 2Although every year I wait for Cherry season to come, this year was especially anticipatory because while in Italy this past year I was taught a simple way to preserve them for winter use. –Okay, so I have the soul of 1920’s housewife who spends her spring and summer, “putting the crop up.”  Is that so wrong?

Cherries are delightfully sweet and sour, their skin is impressively shiny and their color vibrantly ruby, and when you bite into them, their juice makes your lips turn red like a hot Parisian hooker, and as a boy I found it particularly wonderful to spit the pits out at my sisters who would scream at me and run off.  However, since I am older and more civilized and have attained a minute amount of couth and sophistication, I rather eat cherries by the bowl full sitting on my back porch and save the pits for the trash can.cherries 3

While in Italy, after a wonderful dinner of tortellini stuffed with ricotta and spinach tossed with butter and sage, and a roasted Rabbit, Giovanni’s grandmother Pina, brought to the table jars of her preserve cherries and scooped them out into shallow dessert glasses. They were succulent, sweet, and still firm, their color  richly deep and purple and as I devoured each cherry, I swore I was in Cherry heaven. I ate a jar full that day, and before I left Italy I embarrassingly ate all of Pina’s winter supply without her knowing. I am sorry Pina.

This is how to do it: Grab a bunch of mason jars and caps and clean them. Wash a load of cherries and take their stems off. Put the cherries in a jar to its rim, you can compact them but don’t push down and be careful not to split them open. Place a tablespoon of sugar on top and cover tightly. Do not add any liquid! Place the jars in a pot of boiling water and let them cook for about 30 to 40 minutes until their ruby color turns into a deep purple, do not overcook them.  Take them out of the water and cool. A cup of juice will form at the bottom of the jar. There will be cherries on top that will not be in the juice, but fear not, this is how it is supposed to be. Place the jars in the back of your refrigerator and eat at Christmas or the next day.  Two pounds of cherries make about two jars.cherries 1

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cherry Bombs

  1. Terri says:

    Yummy !!!!!!

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    Thanks for sharing this, I shall try and see the results. I plan to eat mine at Christmas time. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  3. I am so going to be trying this. I love cherries. I can tell I’m going to be visiting here often. I like your relationship with food. 🙂

    Like

  4. Jody and Ken says:

    Hi, John–You subscribed to our blog–thank you–so I thought I’d stop by. When I read your about section I began to wonder if we’d crossed paths or met an an industry party. Anyway, this is a very cool technique and I will definitely try it. Thanks for sharing. Ken

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      Thanks for stopping by, and I was going to wait for Christmas to eat those cherries, but I couldn’t wait just opened a jar.. They were terrific! Going to blog about eating them LOL — your blog rocks!

      Like

  5. This is beautiful. I’m going to do this. And then eat them all. By myself. No sharing. Thanks!

    Like

    • johncpicardi says:

      I broke into them last night, I blogged about it, I forgot what I called it something with “Christmas” in the tile, but there are more photos of the cherries there… I am not kidding when I say they really rock, seriously awesome… -I’m checking out your blog now, looks fun! Thanks for the follow…

      Like

Leave a Reply

