Eggs in a Swamp

Eggs KaleToday after I finished working on my new book I found myself in panic mode because usually after these writing days of creative, blissful fulfillment, I reward myself with a cheeseburger that drips with grease, globs of cheese and ketchup.

These last few weeks I have been sticking to a strict diet, no bread or pasta, mostly veggies, small glasses of wine, grilled chicken, fish, but mostly veggies.  I love veggies, but not always the inconvenience of cooking them. The trouble with me is that when I want something to eat I want to immediately grab it and gorge like a wild boar.

I’ve stuck to this diet this long and it feels good.  But damn it, today I wanted something truly, truly, truly, that’s three truly’s well, now four, junky, greasy and delightful……and so I paced and paced while my thoughts did a torturous boogie-woogie in my head… –there is that burger joint down the street, go for it bitch, you know you want it.. Go!  –But there are eggs, fresh kale and other healthy stuff in the frig…  You just spent 5 months in Italy eating everything in sight you swine! –March your fat ass into the kitchen and eat the Kale!  —This inner dialogue went on for entirely too long, (one hour thirty-six seconds to be exact.)

There I was chopping that kale and taking all my greasy artery-clogging frustration out on it. When I was done I had a pile of greens on my counter that looked like I emptied a lawn-mower bag.  Next, I took out my large sauté pan and put inside the smallest amount of olive oil and then the chopped kale. I stirred it around, adding hot pepper flakes, a tiny bit of garlic…   Now what? I contemplated.  –Well, I had some chicken broth and so I added enough to make it look like a thick soup and brought it to a simmer. What else can I add? I pondered while kicking images of cheeseburgers out of my fat craving mind.  I scanned the frig and my eyes fell on the organic eggs I bought yesterday. Perfect!  I cracked two in the center of my green masterpiece and covered the pan. When the eggs were done I spooned them into a bowl and wreathed Kale around them, and finally ladled the steaming broth over the entire concoction. I brought it to the table, hoping I didn’t create something that would taste like a swamp in the Amazon. I started to eat, slowly, cautiously, and within seconds I was eating with gleeful, cheeseburger-blocked excitement.

About johncpicardi

Welcome to my blog. I am the author of the novel Oliver Pepper's Pickle and the published plays The Sweepers and Seven Rabbits on a Pole, both plays have been produced off Broadway and around the US. I am a graduate of Johnson & Wales University where I majored in Culinary arts. I have a BA from The University of Massachusetts and an MFA from Carnegie Mellon University. This blog is about food and food memories and every other fantastic and scrumptious thing to do with it. My appetite and passion for food is large and runs deep, sometimes its indulgent and wild and other times wholesome and simple, often humorous and always immeasurable. I grew up outside of Boston and spent many hours of my childhood in front of the TV watching Graham Kerr (The Galloping Gourmet) and Julia Child prepare all kinds of luscious meals that would make my mouth water. Other days I’d follow my mother and two grandmothers around their simple, tidy kitchens as they busily prepared hearty fragrant meals, hand-cut pastas, preserved fruits and vegetables, baked yeasty breads, spicy cookies and frosted lopsided cakes. I was there by their side asking questions and helping where needed and there were plenty of times I was ordered to leave if I was in their way. It was a given that by the time I graduated High School I would be going off to Johnson & Wales University to study Culinary Arts. Those years were fine and good. I loved the hands on creativeness of cooking whether it be the simple lesson of washing a sink full of colorful salad greens, trussing a chicken or peeling a gorgeous carrot or the complicated lessons of making a French Country Pate or Julia Child’s Cassoulet or making Brioche, it all thrilled me and my dream had arrived!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eggs in a Swamp

  1. Judy Coletta says:

    You make even Kale look and sound delish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

